Connect with us

Music

CMT Announces A Tribute To Charley Pride

Published

on

Charley Pride, whose rich baritone voice and impeccable song-sense altered American culture, passed away Saturday, December 12, 2020, in Dallas, Texas of complications from COVID-19 at age 86.

As part of a special tribute announced today by CMT, ‘CMT Remembers Charley Pride is a celebration honoring the extraordinary life and legacy of one of the most influential, decorated, and impactful country artists in the history of the genre. Featuring three decades of interviews and commentary from Pride himself, blended alongside archival footage of his greatest hits and most memorable performances, the half-hour event follows the Country Music Hall of Famer from his humble beginnings in Mississippi to his rise to CMA Entertainer of the Year with an unprecedented string of hits. Despite facing pervasive racism throughout this legendary career, Pride’s perseverance and unmatched talent transcended generations, broke down barriers, and blazed a new path for black country artists.

The special will include appearances and footage from some of Pride’s closest friends, colleagues, and admirers, including Darius RuckerLoretta LynnMerle HaggardTim McGrawShania Twain, and more, alongside his beloved family, his wife Rozene, son Dion, sister Maxine and his brother Joe.

This will air Wednesday, December 16th at 8 PM ET / 7 PM CT on CMT. The special will receive two encore presentations: Thursday, December 17th (9 AM ET / 8 AM CT) and Saturday, December 19th (12 PM ET/11 AM CT).

© 2020 Trevor Decker News - The Entertainment News Blog
About Trevor Decker News
Trevor Decker News is an independently owned and operated website covering the entertainment industry for general audiences. Trevor Decker News tries its best to work directly with media companies to provide exclusive and unique perspectives for television film and music.

Trevor Decker News wishes to thank all media organizations and other third-party sources who may not be credited in posts on this website for their support and trust in our ability to help reach audiences.

If you have any questions please contact