Connect with us

Hosted by award-winning duo for KING & COUNTRY and Gospel Music powerhouse Tye Tribbett, TBN’s exclusive broadcast of the Dove Awards  Sunday night (which was pre-recorded on October 11) at the Allen Arena at Lipscomb University in Nashville, Tennessee, included memorable performances from popular Christian and Gospel artists Matthew West, Big Daddy Weave, Greater Vision, TobyMac, Steven Curtis Chapman, Anthony Brown, Bethel Music, Hillsong United, Phillips, Craig & Dean, and more. One of the most talked about moments of the night featured DC Talk performing together following a 16-year hiatus. TobyMac kicked things off by performing one of his songs and then brought out bandmates Kevin Max and Michael Tait to perform “Love Feels Like,” a new tune that brought the three together in the studio this past year.

Among the presenters included Lecrae, Danny Gokey, Hillary Scott, Jason Ingram, LeAndria Johnson, Matt Maher, Chris Tomlin, Kari Jobe, Kirk Franklin, Bill Gaither, CeCe Winans, Hezekiah Walker, Jaci Velasquez, and many others.

Each year the GMA Dove Awards celebrate the contributions of singers, songwriters, recording artists, and other professionals throughout Christian and Gospel music. Top nominated artists this year included Lauren Daigle, Hillsong United, Chris Tomlin, Matt Redman, Kirk Franklin, Bill Gaither, and a host of others.

The theme for the 2016 Dove Awards was “Love Amplified,” which speaks to the collective power of unity when Christians come together with one voice. As artist after artist hit the stage to accept their awards, everyone stuck to the theme of the night, particularly gospel pioneer Kirk Franklin.

He took the stage to accept his award for “Gospel Artist of the Year” and urged his fellow Christian family to ask their audiences and congregations to “pray with us for racial healing.”

2016 Dove Awards Winners Include:

“Song of the Year – “Good, Good Father” by Chris Tomlin

Songwriter of the Year – Lauren Daigle

Contemporary Christian Artist of the Year – for KING & COUNTRY

Southern Gospel Artist of the Year – Karen Peck & New River

Gospel Artist of the Year – Kirk Franklin

Artist of the Year – Lauren Daigle

New Artist of the Year – Jordan Feliz

Producer of the Year – Bernie Herms

Rap/Hip Hop Recorded Song of the Year – “Uncomfortable” by Andy Mineo

Rock/Contemporary Recorded Song of the Year – “Happiness” by NEEDTOBREATHE

Pop/Contemporary Recorded Song of the Year – “Trust In You” by Lauren Daigle

Inspirational Recorded Song of the Year – “Till I Met You” by Laura Story

Contemporary Gospel/Urban Recorded Song of the Year – “The Way That You Love Me” by Jonathan McReynolds

Worship Song of the Year – “No Longer Slaves” by Bethel Music

Worship Album of the Year – EMPIRES by Hillsong UNITED

Rap/Hip Hop Album of the Year – Therapy Session by NF

Rock/Contemporary Album of the Year – The Wonderlands: Sunlight & Shadows by Jon Foreman

Pop/Contemporary Album of the Year- This Is Not A Test by TobyMac

Contemporary Gospel/Urban Album of the Year – Losing My Religion by Kirk Franklin

Urban Worship Album of the Year – Sounds of Revival by William McDowell

Southern Gospel Album of the Year – Still by Booth Brothers

Long Form Video of the Year – “Hymns That Are Important To Us” directed by Joey + Rory

Inspirational Film of the Year-  “War Room” directed by Kendrick Brothers

Click to comment